“2fm Miss Personality Contest ” – It doesnt matter what you look like.. or does it? By Eva McEneaney

I came across this competition on the 2fm website  and was absolutely shocked and disgusted at what I read. Not only do I think pageants are an archaic concept, but the requirements one must meet to enter this paegent are down right laughable. I completely understand that it is some people’s cup of tea to enter these pageants but to me , the idea of a woman parading infront of judges to have some aspect of herself ( be it her personality or looks) judged is vomit inducing and quite depressing.

Have we really not come too far for this kind of event to still be popular? and why would this be a goal someone wishes to achieve? When I was a young girl , or really , at any time growing up , I wanted to achieve a lot of things. I wanted , and still want ,to make a difference in the world by whatever career path I chose. Achieving “Miss Personality ”  was never a goal that I would even have contemplated. I would never want to be recognized for winning something which isnt a result of an effort I made to achieve it.Winning a personality contest , to me , is like winning the lottery. Its more to do with what 3 people think of you than actually having a personality.

I would much prefer for the people who know me to acknowledge the nuances of me as a person , rather than people who see me on stage for a half an hour. To me, being loved  by the people around me ,my family and friends, is much more of an achievment than this.

The thing that really infuriated me about this silly competition was the list of requirments. The 2fm website states

Females wishing to enter must meet the following:

Have reached the age of 17 and be no older than 24 as of December 31st 2014.

Hold a valid Irish passport.

Have never been married or have children.

Must not have represented Ireland at any other pageant in the last two years.”

These requirements were under a heading that read “IMPORTANT INFORMATION” . I think 2fm need to re-examine thier definitionof important ! Reading this really got to me . I am currently 24 years old.As far as I am concerned I am in the prime of my life and would still be considered a young woman. I have plenty of time to achieve my goals and aspirations and I sure as hell would never consider myself at my age to be in anyway “over the hill” , so why is it that 2fm have decided that 25 year olds are too “past it” to enter a competition which they claim is based on personality alone? Surely , our personalities are one solid , definite thing that doesnt fade with age. In fact, im sure many would agree that people’s personalities flourish as they age and grow into the people they were meant to be.

This all eats into the Pro-Youth Culture that I think is so venomous to our society and 2fm are promoting it. The other requirement that completely and utterly baffled me was that the entrants must ” never have been married or have children”. I’m sure there must be a more logical reason for this rule that I am missing because to me it just seems inane. Do they think that women who have a family or are in a commited relationship would find the pressures of being in a pageant too stressfull? Do they need to keep the idea of this woman being single and available to all the men who will be judging her based on her “personality”? It really is so insulting to both sexes if this is the case.

As I examined all the details of this competition it suddenly became clear why there were all these rules put in place for the entrants. The Miss Personality winner will go on to be Miss Ireland. It would transpire that the “Miss Personality” competition is not a personality competition at all and has less to do with personality but more to do with how you look in a swimsuit. There is a swimsuit part of the competition for the “lucky” applicants where they must wear swimwear in closed door auditions . There is a catwalk they must parade up and down on. This is so incredibly demeaning and it puzzles me how the organizers of this competition can say it is a “personality competition” and it “doesnt matter what you look like” when you will be examined what you look like in swimwear .

If they are going to run with the pretence that this contest is personality based, then I would ask the question, why can’t men enter?What aspects of the woman’s personality are they looking for in the winner that men don’t possess?

I understand that the Miss Ireland contestant will do a lot of charity work and I think that aspect of the competition is great and a positive role model position for any woman or man to be in. However, the competition itself is so old fashioned and outdated that it is a complete insult to women in today’s society and how far we have come .

 

This entry was posted in General, Media, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “2fm Miss Personality Contest ” – It doesnt matter what you look like.. or does it? By Eva McEneaney

  1. E.Richards says:

    ‘I would never want to be recognized for winning something which isnt a result of an effort I made to achieve it.Winning a personality contest , to me , is like winning the lottery. Its more to do with what 3 people think of you than actually having a personality.’ Perfect summing up. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

