The F Word and You: Ciara Barrett

What does feminism mean to you?
Feminism to me means the promotion of equality between the sexes. I stress the need for “feminism” over “egalitarianism” because in the society in which I live (and many, if not all, other societies worldwide), women are – socially, politically, and economically – oppressed, suppressed, and repressed by both men and women in debilitating ways, and crucially, in ways that men seldom are or ever have been. Feminism is not just about protecting the equalities we ostensibly already have or have recently obtained under law, but also about investigating and overcoming those more subtle inequalities and injustices that disenfranchise women the world over. Anyone can be a feminist, regardless of gender/sex/sexuality.
When did you realise you were a feminist?
I realised I was a feminist around the age five – probably the result of having ardently feminist female relatives and a very liberal father (who, I don’t think, would call himself a feminist, but nevertheless thinks feminist-ly)
What issue/area is the most important to you? 
The issues regarding feminism that are most important to me are reproductive rights, equal pay, and awareness and prevention of rape.
What do you say to people who say “I’m not a feminist but….”
In response to “I’m not a feminist but…”, I would like to ask, “Women aren’t raped in every country, every day?”
Where do you see the feminist movement going in the future?
In the future, I see the feminist movement encouraging people to think about “feminism outside the box”: encouraging more men to think feminist-ly, and stressing diversity, options, and optimism over essentialist or absolutist views.
This entry was posted in The F Word and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The F Word and You: Ciara Barrett

  1. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info particularly the final phase 🙂 I take care of such information much.
    I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thanks and best
    of luck.

  2. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this
    website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and
    great design.

Leave a Reply

