The F Word and You

We’re starting a little project here on corkfeminsta.com called “The F Word and You”

Feminism means different things to different people and each Feminista has their own opinion on which issues and campaigns are more important. We’re curious and have drawn up some questions about feminism and what it means to people.

If you would like to help us out by filling in our questionaire to be featured here then please get in touch at the usual address- corkfeminista@gmail.com

I’ll go first!

Audrey

What does feminism mean to you?

Feminism means equality. It is not the quest for superiority of one gender over another. It certainly has nothing to do with hair growth patterns or bodily hygiene. It is quite simply lifting one’s head out of the sand and disagreeing with the different perceptions, treatment and status’ of people based on their gender… in my opinion.

When did you realise you were a feminist?

I’d like to say when I cracked the spine of The Female Eunich but alas that is still on me to read pile…bad Audrey! It was probably the product of getting more and more involved in student politics and noticing that I really wasn’t happy with how a lot of things are run. I started reading up more about gender politics and then about gender stereotypes in society and the media it all seemed to fit. “I am a feminist!” When exactly that developed I’m not certain as I’ve always been a tad “outspoken”, but the realisation was about three years ago.

What issue/area is the most important to you? 

There are a lot… For me, the abortion “issue” is a red line topic at the moment, especially in Ireland. Until women have full determination over their own bodies, they cannot be called equal. I welcome a new Constitution  which will hopefully addresses the legal inequalities between men and women

What do you say to people who say “I’m not a feminist but….”

This really frustrates me and is something that I’ve ranted to colleagues, siblings and my boyfriend about quite a bit in the past. When I encounter someone who claims not [to be] a feminist, but…” I like to take a deep breath and employ the Socratic method. “Do you believe in equality”, “Do you believe that women should have control over their reproductive organs?” “Do you believe that women should be paid an equal amount for work as a man?”, “Do you feel that women should be judged upon what they say rather than what they wear/what their sexual habits are/what their cup-size is?” etc etc…  “Well guess what, you are a feminist!”

Where do you see the feminist movement going in the future?

Hopefully being put to rest and remembered as a difficult but wonderful time in social history. Hopefully there will come a day when the word becomes redundant and the struggle against sexism is over. In the immediate future however, I don’t see this change taking place in Ireland and much less worldwide. Here, the Constitutional Convention is a start. After that we’ll work on striking the next item off the list.

This entry was posted in General, Issues, The F Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The F Word and You

  1. Pingback: The F Word and You: Linda Kelly « Cork Feminista

Leave a Reply

